I am performing an F test for equality of two variances by following this website formula https://itl.nist.gov/div898/handbook/eda/section3/eda359.htm, however it states that

In the above formulas for the critical regions, the Handbook follows the convention that Fα is the upper critical value from the F distribution and F1-α is the lower critical value from the F distribution. Note that this is the opposite of the designation used by some texts and software programs.

What are currently considered the right upper and lower critical values? In two textbooks I actually found the designation opposite to the one given by the website. However,

given two samples m,n of 5 and 4 respectively, 
a = 0.05, 
the critical values are:
F1-a/2(m-1,n-1) = F0.975(4,3) = 0.10
Fa/2(m-1,n-1) = F0.025(4,3) = 9.97

To my understanding, F0.025 is the left tail limit and F0.975 the right tail limit. If this is correct, why has the left tail limit a higher critical value than the other?


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.